Fair catch one was outstanding; I knew right away that play would be dead, but not that the ball would be at the fair catch spot. Excellent stuff. Always seem to pick up something when I watch these.
Printable View
Saw a play I had never seen before yesterday at the end of the Illinois State/North Alabama game. The Redbirds were attempting a game winning field goal at the end of regulation, attempting the kick on 2nd down. The FG was blocked and recovered by Illinois State at their own 41, and the ref announced it was still ISUr ball because the attempt came on 2nd down. I assumed since they attempted a kick that would've been the end of the possession and it would've been UNA's ball regardless of who recovered the fumble, or is it something where that's the case only if the kick crosses the LOS?
Also, I do enjoy these videos and hope you keep them coming!
This is largely true. One way it's not like a punt in NCAA rules is if the ball is downed by the kicking team beyond the neutral zone, it comes back to the previous spot (or the 20 if snapped inside the 20). In NFHS, the defense would start their series at that spot as if it had been a punt.
Another difference is if the receiving team touches it beyond the expanded neutral zone, K will be awarded a new series if they have team possession at the end of the down. In NCAA, if the ball bounds back behind the neutral zone after R's touching, K can recover but still not advance. They still get a new series, though. In NFHS, the kicking team can recover and advance if they wish.This is really significant if the ball is recovered in their own end zone. Since they can't advance it in NCAA, it becomes a safety since the kick was the impetus that put the ball in the end zone. In NFHS, they can avoid the safety if they can advance the ball out of the end zone.
That situation is extremely rare, but it's a common one we discuss in rules study or on rules quizzes.
Another similar unicorn is the kicking team in both NCAA and NFHS can punt the ball a second time if they recover a kick that doesn't cross the neutral zone. The NFL doesn't allow this. We discussed this once in a college pregame meeting, which usually means it could happen. Nobody thought it would. During the game, we had a blocked punt, and the kicker recovered it. He started running when I heard a coach yell, "Kick it again!" I thought, "OMG, it's going to happen!" Unfortunately, he was tackled before he could kick it again. But I almost saw it.
Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk