When in doubt, yes, in replay situations. If they were certain it was a pass, then you rule incomplete. Since the number of cameras and quality can vary in the MVFC, they may advise their referees to call it a you see it since replay may not have a great view. Replay is a great tool, but it won't solve everything.
Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk
I highly recommend watching Polasek talk about Illinois State in his press conference, then immediately watching Brock Spacks press conference.
Spack strikes me as a realist.
National Champions: '65 '68 '69 '83 '85 '86 '88 '90 '11 '12 '13 '14 '15 '17 '18 '19 '21 '24
Because if you are pretty sure it was a pass, but there isn't enough video evidence either way, you may have just allowed a cheap turnover if you let it play out. That can happen even in P4 or NFL games if there is an issue with the replay system or camera angles. But it's more likely to happen in FCS or games without replay.
Sent from my SM-S906U using Tapatalk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjrLOqdJSW0 - here is Spack pregame for NDSU.
Remember in 2018 when ISU-red was off to a blazing start and Spack shaved his stache to pay off a bet to his team for their winning streak and they proceeded to lose their next 4 (starting with a loss to NDSU) and miss the playoffs????
Never underestimate the power of the stache!
Finally got a chance to watch it. That is the dreaded inadvertent whistle. I could tell when the whistle was blown. The L definitely ruled the runner down assuming he regained control on his way to the ground and maintained control. He needs to wait to make sure the runner maintained control. He's going to be shielded from the ball so he still would have no idea if he regained control and lost it after hitting the ground (possibly long enough to be considered down). The F and B may have angles as well, but there are a lot of bodies around. This seems like a situation where you probably want to let it play out and hope replay can correct it if you are wrong. That will likely involve a downgrade, but not a major one. He ruled what he thought he saw but was probably a little too eager to kill it.
The second one was correctly overruled. I wish they would have kept the low deep end zone view going, because I wanted to see if the R signaled incomplete or threw his bean bag ruling a fumble. The L should not be ruling on that. Just because he sees the ball flying his way hitting the ground, he should not assume it's a pass. That's the R's call all the way. If the R also signaled incomplete then the L may have mirrored him. Because of the immediate recovery they were able to award the ball to B. This also demonstrates a good when in doubt situation. Generally if the hit is from behind, it's a fumble. If the hit comes from the front, it's a pass. This is because the passer sees the one in front coming and tries to get rid of it.
These are both tight, tough calls. You have crack at it on the field and make the best decision based on what you see. If the L was the only one signaling incomplete on the second play, that's the biggest issue on these plays. He should never rule on that when there is contact on the QB involved.