Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: School Uniforms?

Default School Uniforms?

My dad is a principal in a public high school and I've often brought up the topic of school uniforms with him. I wanted to see what people outside of academia think about public schools requiring uniforms?

I for one think that they should go to uniforms and have always felt this way. I feel that clothing is one of the biggest problems in schools. I know everyone says freedom of speech and whatever but these are 18 year olds and under.

I like the idea, just thought I'ld throw it out there and see what others opinions are.

Default Re: School Uniforms?

A dress code, maybe, but I don't think that uniforms are necessary.

I graduated in 1992 from a public school and don't remember any problems arising from clothing. :-/
    Team Cinzano Tested. Team Cinzano Approved

I graduated from a public school in 1991 and we didn't seem to have any problems with dress-code at that time either. But I think times have changed. The girls you see are dressed like hookers and the guys are wearing clothes that are 5 sizes too big.

I think it's the parents responsibility to make sure their kids dress respectfully, but that doesn't seem to be happening. :-/

Only go to uniforms if the girls are in short skirts, knee high boots, and tight shirts.

greenandgold01 Guest

No.

College is a time when students need to build up their individuality and learn who they are.

The best argument I have seen in favor of school uniforms is that it equalizes the students, and avoids a clothing "arms race".

Quote Originally Posted by Rodentia
    The best argument I have seen in favor of school uniforms is that it equalizes the students, and avoids a clothing "arms race".