Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: UND medical school expansion

perthbison is offline Senior Member Gets their mail at the West Parking Lot

Default UND medical school expansion

All I know is that the gov recommended the middle proposal instead of the lower cost expansion or the entire new complex. Loyyd Amdahl wrote last week that with the states money at this time they should build a whole new one. Amdahl was a professor at UND and those insiders usually don't have clear minds when it comes to spending the states money. Anyone with more knowledge and insight please contribute to this thread. I imagine this would be the largest higher ed project if it happens.

North Side is offline Senior Member Gets their mail at the West Parking Lot

Default Re: UND medical school expansion

I am a current pharmacy student at NDSU. About 10 years ago Sudro Hall was remolded and the Walgreens Wing addition was added. Also they started the Thrifty White concept pharmacy lab. All of this had a huge impact on NDSU's only professional school and the state of North Dakota. It allowed us to have larger pharmacy classes and is helping me to become a better pharmacist. I get great hands on experience. I personally do not know if there is a need at UND medical school. However, I can tell you that a building addition helped the pharmacy program tremendously. If the need is there, building an addition will help. It is not a waste of money.

On a side note I have heard the Law School is not doing so how either not really sure why.

When I was a student there, we moved to a new curriculum that is patient centered and focused on students teaching other students and empasizing life long learning. It was centered on small groups and breaking down cases so a remodel was needed. I am not sure how much has been done since I was there (about 10 years ago).