Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: McNair Scholars Program

Default McNair Scholars Program

Has anyone on Bisonville been a McNair scholar?

I am looking for details from someone who was a participant.

A PM would be appropriate.
    National Champions: '65 '68 '69 '83 '85 '86 '88 '90 '11 '12 '13 '14 '15 '17 '18 '19 '21

Default Re: McNair Scholars Program

I take it BV has none.
    National Champions: '65 '68 '69 '83 '85 '86 '88 '90 '11 '12 '13 '14 '15 '17 '18 '19 '21

North Side is offline Senior Member Gets their mail at the West Parking Lot

One of my friends was a McNair Scholar like 3 years ago. The way I understand it is its for black students that are interested in science. I think he did bio chem research as a McNair scholar.

It's for students from underrepresented backgrounds: minorities, low-income, and first generation students.

I got a lot of mailers from NDSU about it when I was an undergrad which made no sense because I wasn't a member of any of those groups.
    Many thousands are in want of common necessaries; hundreds of thousands are in want of common comforts, sir."
    Scrooge-"Are there no prisons?". "Plenty of prisons..."
    Scrooge-"And the Union workhouses." . "Are they still in operation?". "Both very busy, sir..."
    "Those who are badly off must go there."
    "Many can't go there; and many would rather die."
    Scrooge- "If they would rather die," "they had better do it, and decrease the surplus population."

Yeah, thats not the information I was looking for, as some of the posted info is wrong.

I am looking for things like what are the stipends, what are the endgame benefits, how do they help (create) your research interest, how much time is invested into it per semester.

I can read a website...The website doesn't go into detail in any of these area's(tony's post answers partially the stipend question). I would either be entering it as History research or Archaeology research.