PDA

View Full Version : 2007 depth chart

Mr._Bill
01-26-2007, 10:40 PM
I'm excited to get the baseball season rolling, but need someone to clue me in on who will get playing time in 2007, and the projected pitching starters.

February 15 is right around the corner, and I haven't herd a thing. Also, what is the over/under on wins in 2007?

Someone out there must be in the know!

Jeffdaryl3rd
01-27-2007, 04:26 PM
Here's how I see it:

1B--Kole Zimmerman, Sr/Ryan Langlais, Jr. *Zimm back to provide big boost on the field and in the locker room. *Langlais played 49 games at 1B last year, but has experience at six positions and Zimmerman, a catcher by trade who can also play OF, will almost certainly see some time here.

2B--???/Langlais/Matt Watson, Sr. *Langlais started as part of a platoon at 2B his freshman year and Watson played a couple games here last year. *Not the best position for either player and neither is an ideal fit, but if one of them settles in at 3B the other may see time here or it may go to one of the JUCO infielders brought in this offseason.

SS--Matt Mossey, Jr./??? *Matt started most of the games at short last year and is the team's most productive returning hitter and will start at shortstop when not pitching. *As far as who will play SS when Mossey pitches, probably one of the newcomers who are also competing for the 2B job.

3B--Langlais/Watson. *Watson played 39 games at 3B last year, but hit poorly (.176, HR, 7 RBI) and was unspectacular in the field (16 E, .860 field%). *Langlais saw 11 games here last year and Zimmerman's return may push him to 3B more often than last year when he played 49 games at 1B.