View Full Version : Controversial ending: Bunnies/Gophers

01-15-2007, 02:52 PM
SDSU beat the Gophers on a buzzer beater in WIlliams Arena. Considerable debate after the play by the refs before calling the shot good. Here's video on final minutes. Also, you can catch at the end of the clip, what Gopher fans are calling a cheap shot delivered by Megan Vogel when the teams were going to congratualte one another. It appears she shoulder checks Roysland. It doule have been exuberence.

http://www.gophersports.com/onDemand/OnDemandVideo.wvx?CID=53454&CFLID=58248&DB_OEM_ID= 8400&KEY=

01-15-2007, 03:11 PM

Yeah, it looked like she got a free one to me.

It was probably payback for a rough game under the boards or something. You wouldn't believe how rough the game can be when you're playing but it doesn't show up on camera.

01-15-2007, 03:23 PM
Thread started yesterday:


Go State! :)

01-16-2007, 04:48 AM
It was good by a sliver.

01-17-2007, 03:39 PM
It was good by a sliver.

Very interesting ending. Is the game over when the backboard goes "red" or when the clock reads 00:00???

01-17-2007, 04:10 PM
The official ruling is that the ref is to go by the LED ring around the backboard unless the shotclock has a tenth of a second digit. ( 00.0 )
The U of M shotclock did have a three digit shotclock and it was 00.0 and the ball was still in the hand of the player so technically it shouldn't have counted. But I'm sure glad that it did.

01-17-2007, 04:13 PM
Here is a post from our board that explains the contradiction in the rule:

Link to the thread: http://www.sdsufans.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1166848807/120#120


What they need to do at the appeal is figure out what the rule is saying

The rule :
Section 7, Art. 2. Each period shall end when the red light or LED lights has become activated. When the light fails to operate or is not visible, each period shall end with the sounding of the game-clock horn.
b. In games with a 10th of a second game display and where an official courtside monitor is used, the reading of 0.00 on the game clock is to be used to determine whether a try for goal occurred before or after the expiration of time in any period. When the game clock is not visible, the officials shall verify the original call with the use of the red/LED light(s). When the red/LED light(s) are not visible, the sounding of the game-clock horn shall be utilized. When definitive information is unattainable with the use of the monitor, the orginal call stands.

According to this photo, Williams Arena only goes to 00.0 not 0.00 so the LED lights would be correct by lighting 0.09 seconds after the 0.0 on the shot clock.

The thing about the rule is that 0.00 is not a 10th of a second, so the rule conflects it's self. *So if you read the rule quickly and see the 0.00, and then using the LEDs, then it was correct. *If you go by the 10th of a second, 0.0, then the ruling was incorrect. *If we go by the assumption that the ball was not out of her hand at the 0.0 on the clock and it was out before the LED came on. Being the rule is unclear then the original call stands. *

But I'm guessing that the ruling shoud state 0.0 because they also misspelled original, and who ever typed it up thought 0.01 was a 10th of a second, not 0.1.

01-17-2007, 04:30 PM
Yep, it's almost assuredly a typo in the rule book that's causing all of this trouble. The decimal point was probably put in the wrong place and no one caught it.

00.0 vs. 0.00

The former makes sense in the context of the rule, the latter does not.

Bottom line: by the spirit of rule 7.2(b), the final call was incorrect. But since the rule is in error with itself, you need to use rule 7.2 which makes the final call correct. Hopefully this draws attention to the error in the rulebook and the appropriate NCAA sub-committee fixes it.

01-17-2007, 04:42 PM
Another thing to note, it has been mentioned on our board already, is that a reading of 00.0 on the game clock would actually mean that there are 9 one/hundreths of a second left, as the clock only reads to the tenth of a second. After watching the game, it seemed as if the red lights came on shortly after the clock hit 00.0, possibly taking into account the extra one/hundreths of a second. It seems inconceivable that the shot could be that close, but the lead referee said it was easily the closest call he ever had seen. I would say that the rule book should state that only the LED red lights signal the end of the game in order to count all possible time. In this matter it may be that the ball was in her hand when the clock read 00.0, but left her hand before the last 9 one/hundreths of a second ticked off.

Either way, glad we got the win ;)

01-18-2007, 02:49 PM
I heard today that the Ref's association's governing body stated that the call was incorrect. It was on the radio, but they didn't give anymore info.

01-18-2007, 03:20 PM
Article explaining the basket was no good, and officials have been reprimanded for not following proper procedure


01-19-2007, 01:32 AM
From the Sioux Falls Argus Leader:


Review says game-winning shot was invalid
Jacks' win won't be overturned, but officials have been reprimanded

By Terry Vandrovec
Published: January 18, 2007

The outcome of the game will not be reversed, but a review by the Women's Basketball Officiating Consortium has determined that officials misapplied NCAA rules in deciding to count the final shot in South Dakota State's 59-58 victory at Minnesota on Sunday.

Coordinator of officials Patty Broderick said Maria Boever's layup - a shot that appeared to have come after the game clock reached 0.0, but before the red LED lights attached to the backboard lit up - should not have counted because the clock is the determining factor.

The officials - John Morningstar, Ron Applegate and Amy Bonner - determined that the shot was good at the time it happened. They then reviewed the play on a courtside monitor, allowing Jackrabbits coach Aaron Johnston access to the replay before ultimately allowing the shot.

That was another miscue by the officials, according to Broderick.

"They didn't procedurally handle the review of the video properly," she said. "Obviously coaches aren't supposed to be around. It was one mistake after another. They got caught up in the emotion of it." *. *. *. *

For their misunderstanding of the rules, the officials have been privately reprimanded, said Broderick. Possible disciplinary actions range from a written or verbal censure to a suspension.

"When they reviewed the monitor, they looked for the red light to see if the ball was out of her hands - but it's 'triple zeroes' that determine whether a shot should count or not," explained Broderick, adding that the outcome of a game cannot be overturned once the officials leave the court. "They misapplied the NCAA rule, so we have to level disciplinary action at the three officials."

However, "triple zero" can mean different things depending on where the decimal point is placed.

In the 2007 NCAA basketball rule book, Part B of Rule 5, Section 7, Article 2 states: "In games with a 10th of a second game clock and where an official courtside monitor is used, the reading of 0.00 on the game clock is to be used to determine whether a try for goal occurred before or after the expiration of time in any period."

There is a difference between 0.0 - as the clock at Williams Arena read - and 0.00.

The NCAA women's basketball office did not return a call seeking comment. Broderick said that beginning this season, each school is required to have a clock that counts 10ths of a second.

It's her understanding, then, that the game ends at 0.0. When asked about the contradictory wording within the NCAA rule, she said, "I don't even know if that's ever been brought to their attention."

That lack of clarity is a problem, according to SDSU's coach. *. *. *. *(read more)

Go State! *:)

01-19-2007, 03:40 AM
Turns out that the officials admitted the mistake the but game still goes to the Jacks!

University of Minnesota - 0
Dakota States - 2

01-19-2007, 03:45 AM
I understand there were other errors running the clock during the game earlier so maybe justice was served. Game over XDSUs 2 Lady Goophers 0 ;D ;D

01-19-2007, 07:09 AM
I understand there were other errors running the clock during the game earlier so maybe justice was served. Game over XDSUs 2 Lady Goophers 0 *;D ;D

Yeah, you can't really blame everyone on that one call... All the other clock errors really add up.