PDA

View Full Version : School Uniforms?

Sioux_Yeah_Yeah
05-05-2005, 08:24 PM
My dad is a principal in a public high school and I've often brought up the topic of school uniforms with him. I wanted to see what people outside of academia think about public schools requiring uniforms?

I for one think that they should go to uniforms and have always felt this way. I feel that clothing is one of the biggest problems in schools. I know everyone says freedom of speech and whatever but these are 18 year olds and under.

I like the idea, just thought I'ld throw it out there and see what others opinions are.

Bisonguy
05-05-2005, 09:26 PM
A dress code, maybe, but I don't think that uniforms are necessary.

I graduated in 1992 from a public school and don't remember any problems arising from clothing. :-/

MRBISON
05-05-2005, 10:17 PM
I graduated from a public school in 1991 and we didn't seem to have any problems with dress-code at that time either. But I think times have changed. The girls you see are dressed like hookers and the guys are wearing clothes that are 5 sizes too big.

I think it's the parents responsibility to make sure their kids dress respectfully, but that doesn't seem to be happening. :-/

sornball
05-05-2005, 10:59 PM
Only go to uniforms if the girls are in short skirts, knee high boots, and tight shirts.

greenandgold01
05-06-2005, 01:33 AM
No.

College is a time when students need to build up their individuality and learn who they are.

Rodentia
05-06-2005, 04:45 PM
The best argument I have seen in favor of school uniforms is that it equalizes the students, and avoids a clothing "arms race".

Sioux_Yeah_Yeah
05-06-2005, 05:10 PM
The best argument I have seen in favor of school uniforms is that it equalizes the students, and avoids a clothing "arms race".