PDA

View Full Version : DSL Speed

Gully
12-14-2005, 05:06 PM
I want to upgrade my DSL speed so I called my provider today and they have the following options:

I know next to nothing about this other than I'm currently at 128. Does anyone have a recommendation? I'd like to be able to be able to watch streaming video and right now this never works (not just the NDSU stuff either).

Thoughts?

MN_BISONS
12-14-2005, 05:39 PM
Gully, check with your local cable provider to see what they have to offer. I recently dumbed my DSL for cable internet and I'm very happy.

BISON_PRIDE
12-14-2005, 05:50 PM
Just my advice, and I'm no expert. *If you don't have to pay to upgrade I'd go for the 1.5. *I'd look at cable also, Midcon usually has a good deal. *If no to both of these, I'd call around the area and see who offers a sweet deal, it's beginning to be very competative.

kchats
12-14-2005, 07:12 PM
Always get the fastest service anyone provides.

Tatanka
12-15-2005, 01:31 AM
Always get the fastest service anyone provides.
++ I have Qwest DSL and am very pleased. I get 1.5 down and 1.1 up. Very quick.

Also, with a cable modem you are sharing bandwidth with everyone else. At peak times your real bandwidth is less. With DSL you aren't sharing with anyone.

kchats
12-15-2005, 01:41 AM
I am on SBC Yahoo! DSL and I have download of 1.5 Mbps and I think around 1 Mbps upload. I got something in the mail regarding upgrades to bring my speed to 3 or 4 Mbps but when I called the number I couldn't get through and now that number no longer is in service.

Bisonguy
12-15-2005, 02:18 AM
Ask what people use in your area, and compare the costs.

The bus, or "shared" aspect of cable has been grossly exagerated by the TelCos that want to sell you DSL. The cable companies usually understate their speeds to account for any sag due to excess traffic.