PDA

View Full Version : Bison Hockey?

Bison101
03-02-2005, 06:18 PM
I am pretty new to the Fargo area and am attending NDSU as a Grad student. I was curious if someone other than a sue fan could explain a couple things. Why doesn't NDSU have Hockey? It seems like a natural fit. I understand there was a vote in 2000 to build an arena to play Hockey and start a team. If so, what happened with that plan? Is there any talk of trying to get Hockey here or is it a dead issue? Lastly, is this new arena they want to build downtown a good or bad thing for NDSU in regards to getting motivation to upgrade the BSA. I went to the SDSU game and was shocked at how poor of a facility that is. Were D1 now, we need the facilities to recruit D1 talent. In my opinion they need to convert the BSA into a solid Arena for Hockey/Wrestling that seats about 6000-7000. For Basketball we need a brand new arena next to the Fargodome that seats about 8000. Oh yeah, we need an anonymous donor to buy the naming rights to the Fargodome so we can call it the BisonDome.
Thanks for the help...

greenandgold01
03-02-2005, 06:43 PM
I don't think the city will sell the naming rights unless someone buys the whole dome. I don't think it's worth $40MM.

Aparantly, it's possible for the dome to hold hockey if it's upgraded with the correct ice making equipment.

However, the real back breaker in terms of money is for NDSU to have the team itself. Hockey is a very expensive sport PLUS we're already going to need to add women's scholarships to balance football. We'd probably also need a women's team to balance schol. with a men's team. Then add travel costs, etc. it's just too much money.

Rodentia
03-02-2005, 06:54 PM
It might be possible in the future to add hockey, but I think that it would have to wait until the DI transition is finished. If NDSU adds hockey, the CHA would certainally welcome them.

greenandgold01
03-02-2005, 07:06 PM