PDA

View Full Version : Realistic look at NDSU/ISU

Pages : [1] 2

DM05
08-03-2014, 06:57 PM
Since the other thread has devolved into a complete mess, I figured there may be some people that want to talk about the actual football teams involved in the game. I’m an NDSU grad that follows the team closely, but I now live and work in Ames, attended all ISU home games last year and watched most road games.

NDSU (and yes, I am admitting we are FCS – 22 fewer scholarships than ISU)
-3 time defending FCS champs; 43-2 over last 3 years
-2-0 vs 2013 common opponents (K-State, UNI)
-New head coach is the former DC that ran the best defense in FCS last 2 years
-All time: 665-369-34 record, 11 national championships, 30 conference titles

Last year: won @ K-State; went 15-0; beat all FCS playoff opponents by at least 28 pts

The Bison return 7 starters on a fantastic defense, but must replace both starting DT’s. Linebackers (including backups) and secondary are very experienced, to put it lightly. Offense lost winningest QB in FCS history, a very good running back, a dependable slot receiver, and 4/5 offensive lineman.

New QB is has been in the program, but not taken many snaps that matter. By all reports he is very smart with a big arm, but is admittedly untested. Return very good RB John Crockett; transfer RB from Nebraska (King Fraizer) should get time right away, and sophomore RB Chase Morlock got considerable playing time last year. Return WR Zach Vraa, coming off arguably the best receiving year in the program’s history. Return 6-year senior TE, along with very athletic FB. Returning OL is Joe Haeg (very solid but moving from RT of LT this year). Projected lineman are big with some experience. Also return great punter and kicker.

ISU
-15-23 last 3 years
-0-2 vs 2013 common opponents
-Head coach Paul Rhoads is in his 6th year; has done well considering the Gene Chizik dumpster fire he inherited
-New OC Mangino expected to revive the offense