NDSU92
02-08-2012, 05:07 AM
http://www.inforum.com/event/article/id/350032/group/Sports/

Thoughts?

56BISON73
02-08-2012, 05:13 AM
http://www.inforum.com/event/article/id/350032/group/Sports/

Thoughts?

Why not just give every team a participation ribbon. pretty soon it will be like BB.

reformedUNDfan
02-08-2012, 05:25 AM
Why not just give every team a participation ribbon. pretty soon it will be like BB.

teams that go 4-4 in conference shouldn't be in the playoffs. No offense 2010 bison.

I'd like to see it get cut back to 16. there are only around 50 serious programs anyway.

Ross
02-08-2012, 06:02 AM
I'm not a proponent of another auto-bid going to a conference that doesn't support the full scholarship numbers of the major conferences in FCS. As of last season, the conferences that got auto-bids are: Big Sky, Big South, CAA, MEAC, MVFC, NEC, OVC, Patriot, Southern, and Southland. Of these, how many do not support full scholarships? There is a reason that CAA, MVFC, Big Sky, and Southern conferences do so well in the regular season and in the playoffs. Just off the top of my head, I don't know which other conferences other than the previous 4 that I mentioned do support full scholarship numbers.

Championships by conference, since 1990, according to wikipedia...
Southern - 8 (GSU=3, Marshall=2, App St.=3)
CAA - 5 (Villanova=1, Richmond=1, JMU=1, Delaware=1, UMass=1)
MVFC/Gateway - 3 (NDSU=1, Western Kentucky=1, YSU=1)
Big Sky - 3 (Montana=2, EWU=1)
Independent - 3 (YSU=3... after leaving the OVC and before joining the Gateway, they were independent for 7 or 8 years)

ndsubison1
02-08-2012, 06:11 AM