PDA

View Full Version : West Coast offense

DjKyRo
11-04-2009, 03:48 AM
So maybe this is my total n00bishness at all things football showing, but why exactly are we so hardcore about the West Coast offense? Short dunk passes all over the place, dumping the ball two yards on 3rd and 8, not taking the deep ball.

Is there some reason we stick to the West Coast? What are the advantages of running it?

CaBisonFan
11-04-2009, 03:57 AM
So maybe this is my total n00bishness at all things football showing, but why exactly are we so hardcore about the West Coast offense? Short dunk passes all over the place, dumping the ball two yards on 3rd and 8, not taking the deep ball.

Is there some reason we stick to the West Coast? What are the advantages of running it?

I'm not an expert by any means...but my view of the West Coast is that it is extremely dependent upon having a quarterback that fits the mold perfectly. The ultimate was Joe Montana. Steve Walker was a great fit for the Bison, obviously. To me...they're like offensive coordinators on the field that 'must' have the ability to audible on almost every down. That was Walker. Very few high schools run it anymore for the above reasons. Too complex.

Wizards are hard to find. Also...the pump-fake and looking-off receivers is rather important. The West Coast is an extremely 'heady' offense at any level. Some bisonville members would say that we run a power West Coast...which is really a running offense. They might be right. I still don't like it...for the reasons that you wrote about.

Not exactly sure what we're running now. It's hard to analyze chaos.

NDSUstudent
11-04-2009, 04:01 AM
A lot of it has to do with talent. Those shorts passes can turn into long gains when you have a QB that is accurate and athletes that can rack up some yards after catch. We'll get there again, just give it time.