PDA

View Full Version : Why our ancestors left Norway.....

WYOBISONMAN
07-25-2008, 05:32 AM
OK....I am on my first trip to Norway and visiting relatives. I do know now why they left and came to the United States.

A glass of tap beer in the bar is $13.00!!!!! I would have to get the hell out too at those prices!!

Bison"FANatic"
07-25-2008, 01:47 PM
Oh I understand that. I was a exchange student to Norway in High School and that place was very expensive and that was a long time ago. One of the most expensive in the world. A very nice looking country though and lots of fun things to do. Have fun and enjoy the beer it sounds like it has gold in it.

bisonaudit
07-25-2008, 02:22 PM
You're getting killed on the exchange. 18 months ago that beer only would have been $9.50. :)

"In this replacement Earth we're building they've given me Africa to do and of course I'm doing it with all fjords again because I happen to like them, and I'm old fashioned enough to think that they give a lovely baroque feel to a continent. And they tell me it's not equatorial enough. Equatorial!" He gave a hollow laugh. "What does it matter? Science has achieved some wonderful things of course, but I'd far rather be happy than right any day." --Slartybartfast

IowaBisonToo
07-25-2008, 05:44 PM
OK....I am on my first trip to Norway and visiting relatives. I do know now why they left and came to the United States.

A glass of tap beer in the bar is $13.00!!!!! I would have to get the hell out too at those prices!!

And probably half of that is tax (not to turn this political but probably true).:blush:

56BISON73
07-25-2008, 05:53 PM
And probably half of that is tax (not to turn this political but probably true).:blush:

They have a wonderful govt pension program from what I understand. PL

UTH
07-25-2008, 06:27 PM

Luxury taxes in Norway are absolutely ridiculous. Go to a state liquor store and look at the prices. Markup on the hard stuff is even worse.